The Wall of Winnipeg and Me by Mariana Zapata – Loved it!

E63843F6-0FFB-4F8D-AE5A-70FDF11D049D_zpslputkk1m.jpg

The Wall of Winnipeg and Me by Mariana Zapata – 5 Stars 

Five words can sum up this book for me…

“Ovaries. Where are my ovaries?” – Vanessa

Usually, when a book is recommended to me and a lot of people seem to love it, 95% of the time I’m like the black sheep of the group, the one who doesn’t understand the hype. So I was a little reluctant to try this one out. But I am so freaking happy to say I loved this and completely get why it has been all over my Instagram and Goodreads feed and recommended multiple times.

I’m usually not a fan of slow burning books. Mainly because I find the ‘in between’ just full of fluff and nonsense. But not this book! As my friend/buddy-reader Cynthia said, this book is sweet torture. Sweet, delicious, slow burning, torture. So slow that I thought I was going to have a damn stroke by the time these two actually kissed. But it worked. It worked because everything is SHOWN to the reader, not told. (And even though there was some repetition and a lot of inner monologue that would usually annoy me, this book sucked me in so much that I just didn’t mind at all.) It worked SO WELL that even the smallest gesture or simplest line from Aiden had me weeping like a child.

I don’t want to say a word on the plot. Mainly because the “twist” in here drives the plot and I loved where it took the story and was glad I didn’t know beforehand.

Vanessa was a hysterical spitfire, and Aiden was like this huge, sometimes (ok – always) grumpy teddy bear you just want to hug. And hump. The character development and the build of the relationship between these two were done perfectly.

It was all just beautiful. Intense and passionate and sensual and hysterical and beautiful.

READ IT!!!!!!!!

The Wall of Winnipeg and Me is out now!

Leave a comment