Review: Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) by Cassandra Clare – 4/4.5 Stars

6c050-goodreads-button

With the amount of mixed opinions this series seems to get, I’m actually surprised I loved this so much. Especially because it is filled with things that would usually annoy me: BLATANTLY obvious plot twists, cliché bad boy / good girl, love triangle in the works, and it’s also apparently very similar to her other series. But in all fairness I have never read a book by this author so if this is similar to her other work, I wouldn’t have a clue.

All I know is I was immediately entertained by this.

SZExkRU

I immediately liked Tessa even though she was such a naïve heroine. There was something about her limited view of, well, almost everything that made me kind of feel bad for her and just want to protect her. Especially when dickhead Will was so hot and cold with her.

Speaking of Will…

FUf9aKB

I was immediately Team Will. Like, the second he opened his sarcastic mouth, I was a goner.

“I think you ought to let me take poor Tessa into town to get some new clothes. Otherwise, the first time she takes a deep breath, that dress will fall right off her.”
Will looked interested. “I think she should try that out now and see what happens.”

See? Such a little shit. I love it.

To all the Jem/Tessa shippers out there who are probably thinking “Of COURSE you love Will. How cliché”- I’m sorry! Jem is so so sweet but man oh man I just love me an endearing asshole. I can’t help it. It’s also quite clear there is reasoning to why Will acts the way he does, though it hasn’t been revealed yet. And I’m pretty sure I already know what the reason is. And SHOCKER – I’M NOT EVEN MAD. This would annoy me to no end in any other case, but GAHHH I want to see how this “secret” of his and his relationship with Tessa and everything else all plays out.

foB0hC3

Running off to start book 2!

3 thoughts on “Review: Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

