Unpopular Opinion Alert: The Darkest Sunrise (The Darkest Sunrise #1) by Aly Martinez

The Darkest Sunrise (The Darkest Sunrise #1) by Aly Martinez –              2.5 Stars

Another book where I just don’t seem to understand the hype.

I don’t want to get into too many details about the plot because if people do decide to read this, I don’t want to spoil anything. I read a few reviews after I finished this book and most reviews seem to have the same idea; it’s best to go into this story blind.

While this had some well written and very emotional parts, I didn’t connect with it the way other reviewers seem to have. I didn’t sob and my heart did not pound. Maybe because I felt Charlotte and Porter’s relationship was too deep too fast for my liking. Insta love/lust just isn’t my thing. Maybe because I found the whole “light/dark” bit really repetitive.

But I think my biggest issue was the fact that I was expecting my jaw to hit the floor from the “crazy ending” I kept seeing everyone reference. However, I guessed the plot twist very early on so I wasn’t surprised or shocked at all. I actually told myself my guess was probably wrong because it was just way too obvious. In all honesty, I found the lead up to the plot twist a little blasé, and was hoping the “crazy” ending would save the story for me. And while I’m sure it will make for an interesting story line for book 2, I think the fact that I knew where this was going all along made it hard for me to be truly blown away.

I know everyone loves this author’s writing, but for me her stories tend to lack that “wow” factor I am always looking for.

All in all an okay read but underwhelming for me.

PURCHASE LINK:

5 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinion Alert: The Darkest Sunrise (The Darkest Sunrise #1) by Aly Martinez

  1. Book Twins Reviews says:

    lol – I saw the gif and started cracking up!!! I did LOVE it – but I would never think that it’s everyone’s cup of tea. 😀 And you are right, the ending is not that WOWing – we get an inkling of what’s going to happen the closer we get.

    Like

  2. taliaredhotink says:

    Sorry it didn’t work for you, Steph. I had the same issue with Retrieval by her. It didn’t make me feel much even though it was supposed to be highly emotional and the final plot twist was foreseeable from a mile away 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

