Review ❤: Spotless (Spotless #1) by Camilla Monk

3A6E666C-A715-4542-83AF-6B8F11125DE4_zpspqdu1cgi.jpg

Spotless (Spotless #1) by Camilla Monk – 4.5 Stars

6c050-goodreads-button

What do you get when you take an awkward IT engineer teaming up with a paid killer with OCD? This hysterical novel!

Spotless revolves around Island who is sort of kidnapped by a paid killer named March to help him find a rare diamond Island’s mother supposedly stole before passing away. Island is socially inept, a total weirdo, and has the most insane thoughts like this one:

“Chinga tu madre!” My accomplice clearly had unresolved issues with March, because he was encouraging him to satisfy his own mother. (Just so you know, I practice Spanish watching Dora the Explorer and playing GTA, so I know how to say backpack, whore, and weed. I hope you’re impressed.)

and my favorite:

I knew it was wrong, but I pictured myself burying my face in his chest to rub my cheeks against that damn hair and inhale his scent, kinda like cocaine addicts do when they’re at the end of the road and they just slam their face into the entire bag.

Seriously, this girl had me cracking up the entire book. But what I loved was how she was never once annoying, and always endearing. Which I think is rare. Heroines who are quirky tend to be over the top and become exasperating after a while. And given this book is told primarily in her POV, I was so pleasantly surprised I enjoyed every minute of it.

March is another great character. Despite being the hardcore killer he is paid to be, he’s complicated and has a little bit of a soft side for our girl Island.

“…and you should stop comparing yourself to other women.”
“Why?”
“Because you don’t need to. You’re in a league of your own.”

22760162.gif

This book had everything. Action, twists and turns, humor, touching and sad moments, all mixed in amongst a slow burning romance. I was actually surprised at how touching some moments in this were and how perfectly paced the romance was.

I’m a little sad more book friends haven’t read this series! It’s original, quirky, smart, funny, and so sweet. Highly recommended if you’re looking for a different and fun read!

Spotless is available now!

51GcJeKhk0L.jpg

5 thoughts on “Review ❤: Spotless (Spotless #1) by Camilla Monk

  1. Stacey is Sassy says:

    YAY!! I’m so glad you liked it. I agree with everything you said in your review. I loved all of the characters even the ones that made me gag (the hat dude). I hope you enjoy the rest of the series as much as I did. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

