Review: ★A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas ★

description

A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #3) by Sarah J. Maas – 4.5 Stars

6c050-goodreads-button

I just, I don’t really know what to say. I’m very overwhelmed at the moment. And there are so many things I want to say and SO many questions I have but I don’t want to spoil anything so I’ll just ramble like I did for my review of ACOMAF.

★ If Cassian and Nesta do not get a book next, I will fight someone. I am so utterly obsessed with those two. Some of my most favorite parts of this book were their scenes together.

★ Nesta SCREAMING. FOR. CASSIAN. That scene. My heart.

★ Cassian’s entrance in this book is probably my most favorite moment. I actually screamed.

★ I need Rhysand to be in every single future book because I love him so dearly and I can’t let him go. And if he’s not, I’ll fight again.

★ Feyre is such a BADASS and I love her. The beginning of this book and her time in the Spring court was nothing short of epic. (I do admit though that I later felt bad from the after-effects her scheming caused. It’s a very murky/grey area in the book for me. But I think this is a trait in SJM’s writing. There is not a clear defined line of right and wrong. Her characters are flawed and sometimes don’t see it themselves.)

★ Azriel deserves love. He deserves someone who sees him for the kind and selfless man he is. And if he doesn’t get that. Yep, I’ll fight.

★ I guess this is just another trait in SJM’s writing, but she tends to repeat herself. A lot. (Mate was used somewhere around 60 times in this book. That’s like 53 times too many.) I know this doesn’t bother most people, but as I said in my review for book one I tend to notice these things and it can be annoying for me as I’m reading. The pacing was a little off for me, there was at times excessive detail and parts that were very drawn out. Regardless, I still loved this book.

★ Tamlin – I’m just so confused. I was at first meh towards him, then I hated him, and then he went and KIND OF redeemed himself in this book. I feel like he’s a very complicated and damaged character, and I can at least appreciate how SJM kept true to that.
But this part: “Be happy, Feyre.” —-*FUCK there’s something in my eye.*

★ Lucien. I always liked you, man.

★ I feel like Eris and Jurian are another Rhysand. And I REALLY really really want their story.

★ Oh, OH and Vassa too! I need to know her story.

★ Not gonna lie, I have mixed feelings about Morrigan right now. I love the girl, don’t get me wrong. But that whole situation with Azriel and what she admitted left me feeling uneasy. I mean, she’s still my home girl. But I did not like what she did to Azriel. YOU KNOW WHAT I’M TALKING ABOUT, MOR. *side eyes you*

★ And speaking of Azriel again does anyone else think he is somehow going to end up with Elain? As I was reading, I felt some weird connection with those two. And I felt like when SJM spoke of people refusing mating bonds she was hinting towards this. IDK.

★ Amren. GIRL. You deserve a medal. ALL HAIL QUEEN AMREN.

You know what I loved most about this book and this series? It’s one of those you don’t FULLY appreciate until you’re all done and you’ve had time to absorb everything. And when you do, you see if for the greatness that it is. While it has its faults, it was still an awesome book. And while ACOMAF will still be the best book in the series, I still love the series as a whole and can’t wait for the future books!


Leave a Reply

