Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas ❤

09B8988D-55D3-4AAD-A19D-A7095E05B06C_zpsx7rdhrrh.jpg

A Court of Thorns and Roses  (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas – 3 Stars

6c050-goodreads-button

Since I am the only human being on earth who has yet to read this series, my review will just focus on my thoughts. I won’t go into plot details because there’s about 46,708 reviews on Goodreads that will explain it.

I know this series is LOVED by the masses and some people may find it surprising I didn’t 5 star it like the rest of the world (or maybe people aren’t surprised.) While I don’t think this first book deserves a full 5 stars, I most definitely enjoyed reading it. I love the world and characters and am seriously trying to speed type this review so I can get to the second book already. But I must say the story was extremely slow and repetitive and it took me until about the 70% mark to really get into it.

And you know what happened around that mark that made me start to enjoy it?

RHYSAND.

God damn that man is fascinating. I totally get the obsession. But more on him below.

I never really felt any love towards Tamlin or his relationship with Feyre. And I realize the point of this whole book was to get the reader to fall for Tamlin, to route for him and Feyre’s love. But yea…not so much for me. I didn’t HATE him, not at all. I just didn’t have that all consuming love I thought I would have felt for him. I felt other characters *cough* Lucien and Rhysand *cough* were far more interesting. I should note I haven’t read any reviews or looked anything up on this series before I started. But pictures of Rhysand and Feyre are EVERYWHERE and have been impossible not to see. So maybe not feeling much for Tamlin is a preconceived notion. Maybe I really just don’t like him all that much. I’m not sure.

All I know is Rhysand came along and I perked up faster than nipples on a cold winter day. I INSTANTLY loved him. And maybe that’s cliche of me. But you know what? I DON’T CARE. As I said I was bored with the story until he showed up. He’s mysterious and smooth and a tad evil but seems to have some good lurking in him and I’m always drawn to those types of characters. While I was reading I just kept wishing he’d show up more and more and was as giddy as a child when he did.

There was also this annoying little tendency in the writing itself that bothered me. I am not sure why SJM decided to give almost everyone a speech impediment and have them stutter. Almost all the dialogue had someone stuttering and repeating themselves. Just, why? Why didn’t anyone tell her this could be extremely annoying for people to read? Why didn’t her editor tell her to cut that shit out?

Examples:

“my nose — my nose was clear.”
“Is it — is it actually Jurian’s eye?”
“Why — why do any of this?”
“How..how did you do that?”
“It looked like…like nothing I’d ever seen.”

What was with all the “…” and ” —” ?!?!? Is she allergic to commas and fully formed sentences? I just don’t understand. Am I being picky? Maybe. But I tend to notice patterns while I read and those really stuck out. And I’d prefer text that reads smoothly.

But all that aside, I am reallllllllyyy intrigued with this story and characters and will be reading book 2 right away.

2 stars for the start. 4 stars for the later half of the book. ALL THE STARS for Rhysand.

9 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas ❤

  1. madalynbeck says:

    Great review!! I get what you’re saying. I hate when there are repetitive parts (be it context or writing style) in a book. It can get annoying. But it sounds like the over all plot and story line was good, otherwise you wouldn’t be diving into book 2! Thanks for your honest input!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. taliaredhotink says:

    You’re not the last human being on Earth to not have read this. Well, now you have, but anyway, I still need to start this series. The slow beginning is a common complain I’ve read in many reviews, which doesn’t exactly thrill me, but this Tamlin-Rhysand situation sounds to me a lot like the Stefan-Damon Salvatore one (The Vampire Diaries), so I’m looking forward to that.
    Loved the review and the honesty. Oh, and you’re not the only one to prefer smooth narrations. I get wanting to make the characters more realistic and humans with some hesitations, but turning dialogues into a beat-boxing mess is not cool.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Steph says:

      It’s like you read my mind Haha exactly! I know in real life we all don’t speak perfectly. But it’s hard to read the constant stutters and can take you out of the story. & I’ve been told a million times book 2 is NOT slow and everyone’s fav so we shall see 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Briana R. says:

    Okay, I love this review! And I actually agree with just about everything! The book was soooooo slow until Rhysand came in (hello lover!) and made it all fun and full of spunk and angst. I never liked Tamlin and maybe it was because he was just meh, like his character did not inspire lust for me ever. I even liked Lucian more, maybe it’s the attitude? But anyways, read book two because it is waaaaaay better than this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Steph says:

    haha thanks Briana! I’m so glad I’m not the only one who found Tamlin to be so blah. I just started book 2. I kind of want to skip chapters unit Rhysand shows up. Is that bad? LOL!

    Like

Leave a Reply

