The Queen and The Cure by Amy Harmon: Pure perfection.

“Come to me, and I will try to love you. I will try to love you, if you but come back.”

6B9C8AAF-3581-4E69-A14B-F92F3E595A77_zpsrj4ba2pl.jpg

The Queen and The Cure (The Bird and The Sword Chronicles #2) by Amy Harmon – 5 stars

6c050-goodreads-button

Before reading The Queen and The Cure: There is no way this will top The Bird and The Sword.

While re-reading The Bird and The Sword: Nope. No way anything will be better.

Begin reading The Queen and The Cure: Ok, ok. Maybe this will be just as good as The Bird and The Sword.

In the middle of reading The Queen and The Cure: WHY CAN’T I STOP SOBBING.

After reading The Queen and The Cure: HOLY JERU, HOW IN THE WORLD DID SHE MANAGE TO TOP THE BIRD AND THE SWORD?!?!? THAT WAS SO BEAUTIFUL!!!!

This, my friends, this is slow burning bliss. This is a tale where every word has a purpose. Ever story has a meaning. And it all intricately entwines to become one of the most beautiful stories I have read.

Just like with book one, I find it hard to speak on anything regarding the plot for fear of saying something that might be considered a spoiler. So I am just going to ramble on what I loved and post my favorite quotes. Because really, my words will not do this book justice. So how do you review a book you loved so much it made you feel like your heart would burst? You can’t. You just blabber on like a fool. So:

Kjell
Kjell
Kjell.

22665505.gif

*Be still my heart*

One of my most favorite things to read about is a hard, cold hero whose walls crumble at the hands of someone he can’t help but love. His character was absolute perfection. And he is SO much more than what he first seems. He was such a strong yet cold warrior, but underneath that all was a man who loves more fiercely than anyone.

“You said if I came back . . . you would try to love me.”
He turned his head, caught in the familiarity of the words. “What?”
“Come to me and I will try to love you, I will try to love you, if you but come back,” she chanted softly. “I heard you . . . and I came back.”
“I lied,” he said, breathless. He made himself look at her again, so she would believe him. She was covered from head to toe, and yet he could still see her unclothed.
“Who were you lying to?” she asked.
“To you,” he whispered, lying again. He looked for his anger. Where was his bloody anger? Come to me and I will try to love you. I will try to love you, if you but come back.
She made him want to try.
She made him want to lie again.

*******

He loved her then. He loved her now. He’d loved her from the moment she’d opened her eyes beneath a moonlit sky in Quondoon and greeted him like she’d been waiting forever.

EVERYTHING in this was magical, poignant, and just exquisite. Amy has created such a romantic, enchanting tale. Such an interesting, unique world. Along with the beautiful romance, there was suspense, action, and an intricate plot that pulled me in from page one and did not let go until the last. I held my breath from the gut-wrenching tension and my heart ached from the all-consuming emotions. This destroyed me in the BEST possible way.

“You are kind,” she whispered.
“I’m not kind.”
“And you are good,” she said, repeating the lines
they’d exchanged once before.
“I am not good.” He felt like weeping. He was not good. He was not generous. He was not courageous or compassionate.
He simply loved her.
And love made him a better man.
That was all.

22665506.gif

*I have goosebumps as I type these quotes. The emotions from this book are palpable.*

There are so many memorable moments and such engaging characters. So many times I had to go back and re-read a passage because it was just THAT beautiful. I TRULY hope Amy does not stop writing about this world!

This has easily become one of my most favorite fantasy books and a series I will turn to read again and again and again.

22659638._SY540_.jpg

The Queen and The Cure is out May 9th! And I promise you, you want to read it. 

9 thoughts on “The Queen and The Cure by Amy Harmon: Pure perfection.

Leave a Reply

