Review: Before I Ever Met You by Karina Halle

34621496.jpg

Before I Ever Met You by Karina Halle – 2.5 Stars

6c050-goodreads-button

I don’t really know why, but when I read Karina’s lighter books I notice she tends to:

· Label drop
· Explain every outfit, hairstyle, and room set up in explicit detail
· Write overlong, drawn out, unneeded conversations that add absolutely nothing to the plot and I find completely pointless. I’m guessing these details and conversations are supposed to depict the MCs developing a slow and organic romance, but it didn’t work for me. Their conversations bored me.

I didn’t like the insta lust/attraction in this and I found the repetitive details annoying. Which I just find confusing because the author does not do this with her “darker” books.

I loveeeeee forbidden romance with an older hero, but this story was not angsty or as intense as I would have liked it to be.  It felt like the author focused on such unnecessary details rather than building their attraction / relationship.

I found myself skimming a lot of this and when that happens, the book just isn’t for me. It was an okay read and pretty sweet but nothing to be shouting from the rooftops about. A few good sex lines here and there isn’t enough to wow me anymore. And with as little time I tend to have these days to read, I’m starting to be really over these “meh” books with overused story lines. They’re starting to feel like a waste of time and something I’ve read 1000 times before.

As always, I am sure people will enjoy this more than I did.

22591926.gif

 

Leave a Reply

