Prince’s Gambit (Captive Prince #2) by C.S.Pacat – 5 MASSIVE STARS

“It felt, in all the lies between them, as if this was the only true thing.”

1DDA074E-ADCF-4D82-A480-8203A9A0EA68_zps3f754w99.jpg

Prince’s Gambit (Captive Prince #2) by C.S. Pacat – 5 STARS

6c050-goodreads-button

Do you remember in my review for Captive Prince where I said this book/series may not be for everyone?

Yeah. Scratch that. I take it back.

This series needs to be read by EVERY SINGLE PERSON!

I don’t care if you “don’t do M/M.”

I don’t care if you “don’t like fantasy.”

This series is INSANE. And I mean that in the best way possible.

It has the MOST INTENSE unbearable sexual tension, the most dysfunctional crazy families, brilliant intrigue and war strategy, and one of the most satisfying, mind-blowing, ‘WTF!! HOW?! DOES HE KNOW HE HAS TO KNOW WAIT WHAT DOES THIS MEAN???’ endings.

This book is so much better and so different from the first. And it is just so brilliantly written. I can’t even begin to praise this author for the time and thought it must have taken to weave this delicious and deceptive tale.

“From the severe, straight-backed posture to the impersonal grace of his cupped yellow head; from his detached blue eyes to the arrogance of his cheekbones, Laurent was complicated and contradictory, and Damen could look nowhere else.”

Chapter 19? GOOD LORD I had to go back and read it three times to fully digest the beauty that is that chapter. I didn’t think C.S. Pacat would be able to sell me on Laurent and Damen.  what lies. She didn’t sell me, she blew my head off and obliterated my heart:

“The warm, sweet kiss had been broken in a moment of promise: the first slight parting of lips, the hint that Laurent had been on the cusp of allowing the kiss to deepen, though his body had been singing with tension. When he closed his eyes, he felt how it might have happened: slowly, Laurent’s mouth opening, Laurent’s hands lifting hesitantly to touch his body. He would have been careful, so careful.”

___

‘You want to take me, as a man takes a boy.’
‘As a man takes a man,’ said Damen. ‘I want to take pleasure in you, and to please your body with mine.’ He said it with soft honesty. ‘I want to come inside you.’ The words rose, like this feeling within him. ‘I want you to come in my arms.’
‘You make it sound simple.’
‘It is simple.’

Because those two? That, ladies and gentlemen, is how you do slow burn.

“Stirring drowsily, Laurent shifted a fraction closer and made a soft, unthinking sound of pleasure that Damen was going to remember for the rest of his life.”

And the best part? This second novel has caused me to completely appreciate the first in a way I didn’t think possible. So many things make sense now. So many theories are running through my head. The sometimes extremely brutal violence from book 1 has been replaced with a quick-paced plot filled with betrayal, deception, and battles among an unsure but beautiful romance.

The complexity of these characters and the lies and twists are JUST BEYOND FASCINATING.

READ IT READ IT READ IT! 


Leave a Reply

