Freaking LOVED The Hating Game by Sally Thorne!

20E32684-E05C-421E-B1C1-7FB1FBD73400_zpszkdhou61.jpg

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne – 5 Stars!

6c050-goodreads-button

I didn’t love this. No. I need a stronger word than love.
Obsessed? Infatuated? Giddy? Whatever, take your pick. But Oh My Joshua, I am crazy for everything about this book. The writing, the humor, the lust, the sexual tension, the emotion, the slow delicious burn. This is probably the best enemies to lovers stories I have ever read.

Lucy Hutton and Josh Templeman work together at Gamin Publishing and Bexley Books and they have hated each other from the moment they met. They spend their days trying to out do and frustrate the other, play these ridiculous games (but I must say the Kissing Game was my favorite one), and their ultimate goal is to basically make the other cry. They are total opposites – Lucy is lovable, hysterical, and a people pleaser. Josh is a smart ass, grumpy, and cynical.

“So painting your nails tonight, desperately alone?” Lucky guess on his part?
“Yes. Masturbating and crying into your pillow, Doctor Joshua?” He looks at the top button of my shirt.
“Yes. And don’t call me that.”

Reading about these two fight? I was in TEARS. This was HYSTERICAL.

“What are you imagining? Your expression is filthy.”
“Strangling you. Bare hands.” I can barely get the words out. I’m huskier than a phone-sex operator after a double shift.

But reading about these two falling in love? My heart almost couldn’t take it.

“All I want to do is kiss you until I fall asleep. I want to slide in between your sheets, and find out what goes on inside your head, and underneath your clothes. I want to make a fool of myself over you.”

“The first smile Joshua’s ever had in my presence is pressed against my lips.”

“I love him so much it’s like a thread piercing me. Punching holes. Dragging through. Stitching love into me. I’ll never be able to untangle myself from this feeling. The color of love is surely this robin’s-egg blue.”

And favorite line of all the lines:

“I fucking love your red.”

Joshua snuggling? I swoon. Joshua being romantic? I die. But when Joshua gets jealous? For the love of all that is holy, I can’t deal. Joshua Templeman is a GOD and I love him unlike like anyone or anything. He is mine. And I will fight you for him. The end.

There is no greater feeling than picking up a book and not expecting it to live up to the hype, only to find it does. IT SO DOES.

If I could give this book 6 million stars I would. If I could shout from every rooftop TO STOP WHAT YOU ARE DOING AND READ THIS RIGHT THIS SECOND I would. Do yourself a favor and read this phenomenal debut novel!

“See,” he says into my mouth. “I don’t hate you, Lucy.”

The Hating Game is out now!

Leave a Reply

