Ruin & Rising by Leigh Bardugo – if I could stop crying over this series, that’d be great =)

b1534ace-5b20-4412-88cd-1a10e2e67316_zpsdupbhubl

Ruin and Rising (The Grisha #3) by Leigh Bardugo – 5 MASSIVE STARS

6c050-goodreads-button

“Maybe love was superstition, a prayer we said to keep the truth of loneliness at bay.”

Why you should read the Grisha Trilogy:

1. The Darkling
2. Mal
3. Pirates and demons and magical birds
4. The Darkling
5. Nikolai
6. The Darkling
7. Mal and Alina
8. Mal
9. MAL
10. Malyen Fucking Oretsev

If you haven’t gotten it yet, I’m kind of in love with Mal. And I know some people preferred the other heroes over him. Maybe because he wasn’t as funny as Nikolai or as seductive as the Darkling. But I loved that boy from the start and Chapter 16 and the epilogue ruined my life. I read them 4 times. And I think when I’m done writing this review I’m going back to read them again.

What I also loved: how I was oddly okay with anyway this could have ended. I actually kept going back and forth with how I wanted the story to conclude. Towards the last half, I HOPED it would end a certain way. I was PRAYING Alina would end up with a certain someone. And I can honestly say the ending was just perfection. PER-FREAKING-FECTION. I cried and weeped and laughed and I just thought it couldn’t have been better.

The characters were realistic, fantastic, and fun. The plot twists were CRAZY. The Darkling is literally the most fascinating and intriguing character I have read about and I can’t praise Leigh enough for creating someone like him. For creating this whole series that stayed true to its characters and theme from the very beginning. And for Mal. Thank you for Mal.

Fav quotes:

“In the end, maybe love just meant longing for something impossibly bright and forever out of reach.”

“I am not ruined. I am ruination.”

“I will strip away all that you know, all that you love, until you have no shelter but me.”

“I would have been different too, without you. Weaker, reckless.” He smiled slightly. “Afraid of the dark.” He brushed the tears from my cheeks. I wasn’t sure when they’d started. “But no matter who or what I was, I would have been yours.”

“You are all I ever wanted. You are the whole of my heart.”

“When evening fell, the boy would bring the girl a glass of tea, a slice of lemon cake, an apple blossom floating in a blue cup. He would kiss her neck and whisper new names in her ear: beauty, beloved, cherished, my heart.
They had an ordinary life, full of ordinary things – if love can ever be called that.”



51Nb4mklJnL.jpg

Leave a Reply

