Review: The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1) by Mary E. Pearson

b069b71c-299f-4c11-832e-2a73930fa4b3_zps8r7k4gov

The Kiss of Deception – 4 Stars

6c050-goodreads-button

“And late at night as I stared at the stars, sometimes a whisper broke through, one I was too afraid to believe.
I will find you.
In the farthest corner, I will find you.”

Considering how often I pick up a first book in a series that seems to be loved by all and I wind up hating, I enjoyed this way more than I thought I would.

The blurb really tells you all you need to know about the plot and all I can talk about without spoiling anything. Princess Lia runs away on her wedding day to avoid an arraigned married to a Prince she’s never met, set up by her parents who don’t really seem to care or understand her. Lia runs with her best friend to a far town. The story is told through the alternating POVs of Lia, the snubbed prince who is tracking her, and an assassin who was paid to find and kill her.

93F2CBDF-6AED-40A4-85A8-49E00DA51CAD_zpst0qvpchc.jpg

What I liked about this? The execution of the story was done excellently, Lia is a strong willed and smart character who wasn’t easily fooled and basically takes no shit. The plot twist around the 60% mark had me in shock. I felt so tricked! And I am usually pretty good at guessing plot twists, but this one came out of nowhere for me.

“Lia”, he whispered. “Lia.”
And I heard the words I love you. Even if he didn’t say them.

Would I call this book a love triangle? No – not really. While both the Prince and Assassin have eyes for Lia, she makes it quite clear who she has feelings for early on in the book. The only downside for me was this took a while to pick up and was sometimes repetitive. I’m big believer in less is more. And sometimes this got a little overly descriptive for my taste. While it was entertaining, not much action takes places until about 70% in. But as with most series, the first book tends to lay out facts and sets up the plot for the rest of the books.  So I’m still really excited to see where this goes and definitely will be continuing with the second book!


Leave a Reply

