The Bourbon Thief by Tiffany Reisz: STILL NOT OVER this story.

“And bourbon’s like the truth, you know? The first taste burns, but once you get used to it, it’s the only thing you want in your mouth.”

36F89EE1-E3AF-48DF-B59B-A53E18A3DEA2_zpsw6xyfm0l

The Bourbon Thief by Tiffany Reisz – 5 Stars 

After I finished reading this, a friend asked me how it was.
Was there a happy ending? She asked.
Was it dark?
What genre is it?

I had no idea how to answer any of those questions.

Was it a happy ending? Yes. No. Sort of?

Was it dark? Yes. No. Sort of? I wouldn’t call it dark. But scandalous. And sometimes disturbing. And some things that happened were just plain outright wrong and I asked myself what the fuck was wrong with me since I was enjoying it. Especially after that last bomb Tiffany dropped. I am STILL not over that.

What I do know is Tiffany Reisz can weave one hell of a story and this had shock after shock after SHOCK. I couldn’t put it down, even though some may call it slow placed. I was obsessed with the banter of the hero and heroine and while some may not consider any of this humorus because of the dark and vengeful underlying tone of the plot, I did laugh multiple times at the quick witted dialogue between the two MCs.

The premise of the book revolves around a long lost bourbon company, Red Thread, that was originally founded and owned by the Maddox family for generations. Many years after Red Thread’s demise, a woman named Paris tracks down the last remaining bottle and tries to reclaim it by telling the sordid tale of the company’s origins and how it all eventually fell apart. From here the story unravels and as I mentioned above, a lot of insane and disturbing things occur.

“Perfection is for heaven, and when you tried to bring perfection to earth, you paid a heavy price.”

There were so many elements to this story, and I was extremely impressed with how the author pulled them all together. Throughout the book there was this anxious, heavy feeling that I couldn’t shake, so I was waiting for that inevitable shoe to drop. And when it dropped, HOLY SHIT DID IT DROP.

This is not your typical love story. This is not your typical drama. It was right and wrong and mysterious and delightful and tragic all at the same time. I also found it extremely interesting this story was inspired by true events and the author was able to conjure such a wicked tale from them. I would most definitely recommend it to those who aren’t afraid to read something that is outside of the box and a little outside of their comfort zone.

*ARC provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review


The Bouron Thief is out June 28th and available for preorder:

2 thoughts on “The Bourbon Thief by Tiffany Reisz: STILL NOT OVER this story.

Leave a Reply

