Sidebarred by Emma Chase – LOVED IT!

description

Sidebarred (The Legal Briefs, #3.5) by Emma Chase – 5 Stars

*This review contains minor spoilers from Sustained. If you haven’t read it yet (seriously what the hell are you waiting for?), you may want to avoid the last few paragraphs*

I just want to start this review by saying this novella made me so deliriously, ridiculously happy. That is the only way I can really describe what it was like to be able to read more on Chelsea and Jake. They feel like a couple I know and who I want nothing but the best for. And yes, I am aware how completely crazy I sound but that is how attached I have become to this couple, and to this series.

This has been such a feel good, hysterical, romantic, all around awesome series. And for those who haven’t read about Chelsea and Jake yet (their book, Sustained, can also be read as a standalone) their life can be compared to Cheaper By The Dozen – but with a really hot dad (Jake) who you want to bang and a sweet amazing mom/aunt (Chelsea) you would want as your BFF.

I don’t want to say much on the plot, given the blurb is a little vague, and you’ll want to save the sweet surprise for when you read this. So I’ll just talk more about my favorite couple from this series. Jake is still the strong, sexy, take charge man he was in Sustained. Still just as protective of Chelsea and the kids as ever. But what I like most about Jake? When he gets all Tarzan angry. JEEZUS. I know that sounds odd, and out of all the traits I could have picked, I picked that one. But when this man sees red, I swoon.

My voice is low, deadly. “You fuck with my wife, you fuck with me. And in case you haven’t realized it yet, I’ll spell it out for you: you do NOT want to fuck with ME.”

 photo 13954356_zpsqfw0yjwt.gif

And when he talks about Chelsea? My god.

“I’m not good with flowery, romantic kind of words. But she makes me wish I was. Because she’s more than my wife- more than the owner of the pussy that has me so very whipped. She’s my love, my home, the solace to my soul, the keeper of my heart, the center of my entire fucking world. The only reason I believe in my own goodness is because I see it reflected in her eyes.”

 photo tumblr_inline_ndzlujRl1k1shoxq2_zps5k5dzgv4.gif

This novella had me cracking up, tearing up, and was just pure perfection. I loved reading more on those hysterical McQuaid kids and seeing what Stanton, Sophia, Brent and Kennedy have been up to. I could read about this couple and the others from this series and never tire of them.

*An ARC was provided in exchange for an honest review*


Sidebarred it out April 24th!

Reading order of The Legal Briefs Series can be found here.

(All can be read as standalones, though Sidebarred should be read after Appealed, as it contains some spoilers from the previous books.)

Leave a Reply

