Review of Calico by Callie Hart

description

Calico by Callie Hart – 4 Stars 

“I couldn’t have forgotten about you even if I’d tried. The seas could have frozen over. The heavens could have come crashing down to earth. Time could have stood still, and I never would have been able to cleanse myself of you.”

Calico was such an emotional, beautiful read! Though I have seen some call it “angsty” I wouldn’t really call it that. To me this was more of a slow and steady paced story, where the reader is taken on the journey of Callan and Coralie, following their love and then the ultimate demise of their relationship.

Coralie and Callan meet as teenagers. They have a slow-budding relationship and eventually fall deeply in love. But Coralie has been keeping something from Callan. And this something causes her extreme suffering and eventually forces her to leave him and the town where they live. Fast forward 12 years, and Callan and Coralie cross paths again. Coralie still thinks they shouldn’t be together because of the secrets and lies she has kept from him, but Callan isn’t let her get away so easily this time.

“I wake up sometimes and I can’t fucking breathe, Coralie. Just like you do. I walk down the street and I see you everywhere. Just like you see me. I find myself inside some woman I just fucking met and it’s your mouth I feel on mine, your hands I feel on my body, your voice I hear calling out my fucking name. You can’t tell me that you’re not imagining me inside you every single goddamn time you have sex with someone else, Coralie. You just can’t, because I know it’s not true.”

I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised by how insanely romantic and loving Callan was. I was expecting him to be an asshole but he was the complete opposite. ESPECIALLY when they were teenagers. The way Callan cared for Coralie was so freaking beautiful. The way he fought and cared for her gave me chills. And I can’t not mention how damn sexy he was either:

“I’m going to kiss you soon, bluebird,” Callan whispers into my hair. “And if you don’t stop me, I’m going to touch you. I’m going to take your clothes from your body and I’m going to kiss every single inch of you. I want you to melt for me. I want to feel your body sing for me.”

…and then this little gem

Callan stands over me, studying every last inch of me, the most intense expression on his face. He shakes his head, his lips curling up at one side. “You’re about to come so hard,” he tells me. “You have NO idea.”

Calico is told in dual POV, and alternates from past to present. I don’t want to say anymore on the plot, or why these two split, or if they can work out what’s happened to them. You’ll need to read and find out ;). I really did enjoy this and found it to be raw, really emotional, and beautiful. The only reason I am not giving it a full 5 stars is because I felt like it dragged in some places and I don’t quite understand why they both spent those years apart without trying to contact the other. It didn’t make sense to me. Coralie explains her reasoning, but after so many years had passed, I just didn’t get why she couldn’t contact Callan knowing how hurt and lost she was without him. And same goes for Callan. For the way he loved Coralie and how abruptly things ended, I would have thought he would have tried to track her down and not let anything get in his way to get her back. Instead he just let her go and then took the opportunity of her being back in their hometown to see her again.


Calico is out now!

Leave a Reply

