The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson – can this woman write a bad book?

81A0507E-C341-410F-814D-DF25DDAD90BF_zpsq6uvenpq.jpg

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson – 5 Stars

The Sky Is Everywhere is the story about Lennie – a girl who lost her sister and best friend, who is confused and lonely and heartbroken and finds solace in sharing her grief with her sister’s boyfriend, but also with the new boy in town, Joe. It’s a story about first loves and grief and everything that happens when the person Lennie loves most is ripped from her life and how she copes. Do note though – while Lennie seeks comfort from both boys, I really didn’t consider this a love triangle. (And if you read this you’ll understand why. And trust me when I say, YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK.)

Jandy Nelson is my new queen of YA. I will read anything this woman writes from now until forever. She writes YA like nothing I have read before, with such heart and feeling and every emotion there is. I am utterly obsessed with her stories.

My FAVORITE thing about her writing is the relationships she depicts. The moments and thoughts and dialogue she writes literally make my heart clench. But my favorite thing about this book?

Lennie and Joe:

“I think if we don’t stop kissing, the world is going to explode.”
“Oh God,” he whispers, reaching his hand behind my neck and bringing my lips to his. “Let’s let the whole fucking world explode this time.”
And we do.
___
“…they made me fall more in love with you.” And then he smiles, and in all the places around the globe where it’s night, day breaks.
___
…and then we’re kissing so far into the sky I don’t think we’re ever coming back. If anyone asks where we are, just tell them to look up.

.
.
.

……..sorry. Had to take a moment to regroup there. I’m not crying writing and rereading these quotes or anything. Nope. I’m good now.

Anyone who is a fan of YA should read this book.
Anyone who is a fan of books about first loves and loss and forgiveness and family and regret needs to read this book.
Anyone who is looking for an insanely touching, heartbreaking, incredibly written, sensational read, YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK.


Leave a Reply

