Wicked Heart by Leisa Rayven: LOVED IT!

description

Wicked Heart By Leisa Rayven- 5 Stars

(To read my reviews for Bad Romeo & Broken Juliet, click here and here.)

“How long does it take to fall in love? A second? A week? A year?” – Elissa

Well, it took about 15 pages for me to fall head over heels in love with Wicked Heart. That’s all. Leisa Rayven delivers angst, humor, and sexual tension like no one’s fucking business. And I devoured this book and loved every second.

Wicked Heart tells the story of Elissa (for those who read Bad Romeo & Broken Juliet, you’ll remember her as Ethan’s sweet sister). One fateful night she bumps into a delicious man named Liam Quinn while out with her best friend Josh. After hanging out and then learning they’ll be working together, Lissa decides (for professional reasons as a stage manager) she can’t be with Liam until the show is done. And when they do get the chance to act on their feelings, fate decides it has other plans. Years later, Lissa learns she’ll be working with Liam again. But this time, his fiancé is along for the ride.

description

My three favorite things about this book? Easy. Elissa. Josh. AND LIAM.

Why you ask? Let me show you.

“…but really, no one needs to exercise as much as they do. It’s wrong and unnatural. My idea of working out involves yoga pants without the actual yoga. In fact, my yoga pants should be called “sitting around eating cheese pants.” A longer title, sure, but more accurate. “ – Elissa

A girl who loves cheese and hates working out? That’s my kind of lady.

“Nice to meet you, Liam. Hope we’ll be seeing you again. Please keep in mind that, even though you could crush my head with your bare hands, I’m going to have to ask you to treat Elissa with respect, or face the consequences.”

What consequences?”

“Me running into your fist with my head, multiple times. But, be warned. I have a thick skull. Your knuckles will never be the same.”- Josh

God, I love him. My stomach hurt from laughing so much at his insanely funny commentary. *Ahem* Leisa are you listening? Because Josh should totally get a book of his own. A short story. An extended scene? Something. ANYTHING!

“Did you know I dream about your mouth? How it feels. And tastes. Every time I see you, the urge to kiss you is so damn strong, it hurts to deny it. Tell me you feel the same.”- Liam

I DO LIAM! I DOOOOOO!!!!!!

“Stay the night,” he says quietly. “I want to see how many more times I can make you scream before morning.” – Liam

Ummmmmmm. Yea. Don’t need to ask me twice.

description

Leisa’s words are SO beautiful, her characters are SO charming, and her humor is just perfection. This book delivered so much heartache and angst, but at the same time so much romance and love. You could literally feel the heartache, the sexual tension, and every other emotion that was portrayed. Elissa’s pain was my pain. When she delivered this little gem? CHILLS!:

“Heartache doesn’t teach you to be resilient. It teaches you to protect your fragility. It teaches you to fear love. Ad it draws a bright red circle around all the ways you’ve failed as a person and laughs while you cry.”

That line. My favorite line in the whole book.

Safe to say, I will continue to read anything Leisa writes. She has a forever-fan in me. And if this happens to turn into a short film like Bad Romeo is (oh yes! You didn’t know? Check out the FB page here.) I volunteer to play Elissa!!!!! Remember that Leisa! I WAS FIRST TO OFFER!

Anyone looking for an amazing, humorous, insanely sexy read, you got it right here! (This can be read as a standalone, though I HIGHLY recommend reading Bad Romeo & Broken Juliet.)

Wicked Heart is out May 3rd 

Leave a Reply

