Unpopular Opinion Alert: Review of Liquid & Ash by EM Abel

My overall reaction:
 photo tumblr_nyq31ab8U11tq4of6o1_400_zpsyynllckl.gif

Liquid & Ash by EM Abel – 2 stars

Liquid and Ash tells the story of Penny. She is in a pretty crappy relationship and tries to find the courage to move on and build herself a new life.

I wanted to like this book so bad, I really did. But when you find you are forcing yourself to read on and have no interest in what happens to the characters, it’s time to mark the book as a dud and move on.

What didn’t work? Firstly, I wasn’t a fan of the multiple flash backs within each chapter. It got confusing to keep up with the present timeline when there were flashbacks happening every few pages. (This did taper off after a while, though.)

Secondly, I found the MC’s voice dull and her personality stiff. I know I was supposed to sympathize with her and her situation, and at some points I did (I’m not a total Ice Queen), but overall I really didn’t care what was going on and forced myself to continue, hoping it would pick up. (As a side note, I actually had to go back and look up the MC’s name while writing this. She was that unmemorable to me.)

Lastly, and most importantly, the whole book/plot to me was just plain old …..boring. Nothing interesting occurred, there were no noteworthy situations or prominent characters that made this book stand out or made me think “Wow, I need to recommend this. Everyone should be reading it.”

 photo bired_zpsdjboor3r.gif

I can perhaps see why some people would connect to the storyline, which is why I am giving this 2 stars and not 1. But overall it was lackluster, I completely saw the “twist” coming from a mile away, I did not connect to or believe the relationship between the MC and her “new guy”, and found the storyline predictable – which was the nail in the coffin for me. I feel like I have read similar storylines many times before. And if the storyline is recycled, SOMETHING needs to stand out. SOMETHING needs to grab my attention and keep me interested. A few well written lines here and there isn’t enough. Unfortunately this is one of those books that will be a distant memory filed under ‘some book I read but I don’t really remember what happened.’

*An Arc was provided in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

