The Hook Up by Kristen Callihan- Thoughts? Read. This. Shit. <3

503F4C4E-6D56-466D-B625-C4A9E7969972_zps71icdrmp.jpg

The Hook Up by Kristen Callihan – 5 stars

6c050-goodreads-button

In a world of stories with predictable plot twists, characters with haunted pasts, and unnecessary shock value thrown in for good measure, I personally have found it SO HARD to find a light read that isn’t beyond cheesy or just….well, boring.

So when one comes along with one of the most fantastic heroes I have read about, I want to scream “YES FINALLY!!!!!” from the top of my lungs.

Basic plot – Drew is Mr. Popular Star Quarterback of his college, and Anna catches his eye on their first day of class. While Drew is sweet, charismatic, and confident, Anna has some insecurities and can’t seem to understand why Drew would want her. They hook up, but Anna tries to keep Drew at a distance for fear of being consumed by her attraction to him and getting her heart broken.

I must admit, the beginning of The Hook Up had me feeling a tad iffy. I am not a fan of insta-love, and can count on one hand the amount of times I have read it and felt it was actually believable or without making me want to roll my eyes. When Anna and Drew meet that ‘insta-connection’ was there, but I was able to look past it because I found Drew’s opening lines humorous and his endearing charm just reeled me in.

16803064._SY540_.jpg

Without a doubt, Drew is what undeniably made this book. He is absolute PERFECTION. I cannot stress enough how much I adored his character. He was everything you could ask for in a hero. Sweet, SEXY AS ALL FREAKING HELL, patient, understanding….I can go on and on. With his amazing character and Kristen Callihan’s FANTASTIC writing, I was definitely hooked. I haven’t read anything by this author before, and was pleasantly surprised with how smooth, witty, and touching her writing was. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Dialogue is what makes or breaks a book for me. The conversations, texts, and ESPECIALLY the romantic lines in here were GOLD. I must have highlighted every word that came out of Drew’s delicious mouth.

16803065._SY540_.jpg

I would also like to point out, while I am a fan of the dirty talk, I found it so refreshing to have a male character who didn’t spew one liners the whole time they were having sex. Nope, not Drew *le sighhhh*. Their chemistry was so off the freaking charts HOT words weren’t really needed. Instead, Drew would dish out one sexy ass command and BOOM, there went Anna’s panties. And mine. I honestly feel like writing a good sex scene takes talent and I LOVEEEDDD how Kristen handled and wrote them. They were so steamy but at the same time so emotionally charged.

05245640-B973-48B5-8F86-6BBDCAF57F91_zps2mirrw4p.jpg

I Should Note…. Though I tried to understand Anna’s feelings, I kept going back and forth between being annoyed and sympathizing with her. By the time we got a deeper look into her insecurities, though, the annoyance waned. I’ve never understood or been a fan of the whole “you can fuck me but we can’t try anything more” and “even though we’re fucking and you shower me with love and attention, I’m still going to be a snot because I think you’ll hurt me” bit. And because Drew made it SO obviously clear he adored Anna and was nothing short of amazing it made it hard for me to understand her reluctance. It would have been easier to sympathize with her more if he was a known jerk or player with a seedy past, but Drew was someone anyone and everyone would pine for. He’s THAT amazing. BUT (and this is a pretty big BUT) Anna most definitely earned back points towards the end of the book. I grew to like her so much more as the book progressed. I also really would have loved more chapters in Drew’s POV. But mainly because I just couldn’t get enough of him.

BF5E0AF0-DC32-4797-8406-1222A1EF9D4C_zpsm1xtfjaq.jpg

All in all, I enjoyed this read SO MUCH and have found a new book BF in Drew. I am utterly obsessed with this boy. I would highly recommend this to others, especially if you’ve been having a hard time finding entertaining books that aren’t predictable and cheesy. The story got better and better with each page. I really loved Drew and Gray’s friendship so I will definitely be continuing with this series and am excited to get to know Gray in the next book!


Leave a Reply

