Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer
The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“I didn’t know what was real, what was a nightmare, what was a memory.” – Mara Dyer

description

Well Mizz Mara Dyer, you and I have that in common. I spent the majority of this book in a state of utter confusion with the question “WTF is happening?” on repeat in my brain.

Let’s break it down quickly, shall we? Mara Dyer wakes up in a hospital having been involved in an accident she has no recollection of. Because of this accident, Mara is left in a state of confusion, suffering from hallucinations, hearing voices, having vivid nightmares…or are they memories? And because of the nature of the accident, which I shall not divulge because that would be a spoiler (!), Mara and her family move to Florida to start over in hopes of Mara’s odd behavior stopping. Does it work? Yeaaaa ..not so much.

description

Mara tries to adjust to this new life, along with her fiery sarcastic personality and shotty recollection of the accident, when creepy ..I repeat CREEPY ASS THINGS begin to happen. People dying, kidnappings, and freak accidents, just to name a few. As the story progresses, Mara begins to question her sanity (along with myself) as the line between reality and fantasy begins to blur.

description

Among all the creepiness, Mara meets Noah …sweet, sweet, weird, teenage man-whore Noah, who- I would like to point out even though I adored him and the way he helped Mara- I was so suspicious of. I had this weird spidey sense there was more to him and more to what he actually knew about Mara than what was being lead on. Was I right? Well, I can’t actually say because that would be another spoiler!

description

The dialogue was incredibly witty and funny, some of the situations were SO. DAMN.WEIRD and again CREEPY, and all along I was so intrigued that I couldn’t wait to finish to get some damn answers. And did I get answers? Well not until the last 85% of the book did I begin to even remotely understand what the hell was going on.

I didn’t read much on this book before I started it, and I had no idea it was YA or paranormal. The last book I think I read close to these categories was Twilight which was around 7 years ago. Regardless of these facts, I still enjoyed this weird little book SO MUCH. I wasn’t even sure how I wanted to rate it, but after finishing and not being able to stop thinking about the story I knew this one was a winner. Mara and Noah drew me in and THAT ENDING …HOLY MOTHER OF CHRIST THAT ENDING. **runs off to read book 2**
View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Leave a Reply

